Welcome to Clyde Park, Montana

  • Local Businesses

  • Local Farm

  • Scenery

Clyde Park, north of Livingston, was originally called Sunnyside, which was also the name of "Madame Bulldog's" stage stop and travelers' rest station; when the post office was established at her place in May 1885, it also took the name Sunnyside. In 1887 the office was moved to the ranch of Messrs. Harvey and Tregloan, who were raising Clydesdale horses imported from England. The name was changed to Clyde Park after these horses and the park-like appearance of the valley. This name followed the post office as it moved from one ranch to another with each new postmaster appointment.

In 1900 it was moved to the present site of Clyde Park, at a four-way crossroad. The branches led to farms and ranchesone to Rock Creek Ranch, one to Brackett Creek, one to White Sulphur Springs, and one to Livingston. Supplies in the early days were hauled into Clyde Park by Jim Bowen, known as the "Cayuse Kid," who freighted with a twenty-four horse jerk line. By 1914 the Northern Pacific Railroad was making its run up Shields Valley past Clyde Park six times a week (Dorothy Patten, Park County News). (from Cheney's Names on the Face of Montana, Mountain Press Publishing Company)

The Crazy Mountains and the Bridger Range provide a breathtaking view for Clyde Park nestled in the Shields Valley between these two mountain ranges. The area is excellent for hiking, snowmobiling, and cross-country skiing. Clyde Park also offers varied opportunities get a taste of what life is really like in rural Montana and to experience a working cattle ranch. Branding calves, sorting cattle, trailing cattle to and from summer pastures, harvesting hay for the winter: This has been the pattern shaping the lives of Clyde Park's ranchers for nearly a hundred and fifty years.